Toying around with GoogleVoice!

Posted: December 27, 2009 in Computing, Mobile, Technology
Tags: , , , , , ,

I’ve been wanting to play with GoogleVoice for a while now! And since I’m anticipating the arrival of my Droid Milestone, I just set my foot down and said I want it and want it now 🙂

Watch these videos if you have no clue:

So, if you’re not in the U.S. you may not access GoogleVoice. The only thing you can do is send a request for an invite from Google. Good luck with that as Google hasn’t released GoogleVoice to the world yet! Oh and it gets worse, apparently current GoogleVoice users are not able to invite others it seems!

If there’s a will though, there’s a way! I did this all the way from Kuwait and I’m pretty sure you can do too. Below I explain how:

CAUTION: I am not responsible for any varied experiences you may have, nor am I responsible for any security threats you may exposed to. DO AT YOUR OWN RISK!!!

  1. Use a U.S. based proxy on your browser. Make sure the proxy you use supports SSL. If you do not have a clue about what I’m talking about, make sure you read the following.
  2. After you’ve set your proxy correctly, navigate to http://www.google.com/voice
  3. Sign-in with your googel id that you want to use with GoogleVoice
  4. Choose your favorite U.S.-based number
  5. If you use Vonage or Skype or any other similar service with a U.S.-Based number, make sure you input it as this number will be used to verify your account. Google will call you and ask you to enter a code.
  6. Once all that is set, you’re good to go and Vowalaaah!

So far, it’s awesome 🙂 Love it!

Comments
  1. bathmate says:

    Really wonderful blog.I like this blog.

  2. Nick says:

    Nice posting.I think very effective information.

  3. I cannot believe this will work!

  4. Nick Matyas says:

    Very impressive work. I liked your work. You did very well posting. Good luck with your work. 😉

  5. Sometimes it’s really that simple, isn’t it? I feel a little stupid for not thinking of this myself/earlier, though.

  6. This brings me to an idea:…

  7. 赌博赚钱 says:

    Great idea, but will this work over the long run?

Leave a Reply

