Just Read: The Last Lecture!

Posted: July 28, 2009 in Personal, Talks
Tags: , , , ,

I remember Maryoom reading this book with Ansario during last year’s K4K trip to Kenya. I’ve heard about the book and watched bits and pieces of the lecture online, but never completely got to reading/viewing everything! On this trip I decided to buy the book and was determined to finish it before I return to Kuwait and so I did ๐Ÿ™‚

The book is an easy read and funny @ times (You’ll especially appreciate some of the humor if you’re an IT geek :p ). The advise the Author, Dr. Randy Pausch, offers may not be rocket science, but rather things that have worked for Randy!

The best part was that I practiced some of what he preached and it worked!!! Randy talks about always give it a try and do not hesitate to ask for something.

So there we were waiting for our propeller plane to pick us up from Masai-Mari after a great 2 day Safari, and the plane was empty and no one waiting with us on the run-way!! Yup, a privet jet if you will ๐Ÿ˜€ oh and it gets better, there was no co-pilot! Which meant the seat next to the pilot was up for grabs! without hesitation, I asked the pilot if I could sit next to her, and she was very welcoming ๐Ÿ™‚ Once we were flying and she switched on the auto-pilot, I asked if I could fly the plane (I did that last year too, but by invitation from the pilot ๐Ÿ™‚ ) and she said yes as long as all people on board agree. Thank God I was traveling with wonderful people who all agreed and there I was flying the plane for 5 minutes or so!

THANKS RANDY!

I’ll try to catch-up on watching the talk, but you may find it below in this YouTube video. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

